To the world, you are one person...but to one person, you are the world!

Dead Cat Dillemma
2004-10-22 at 1:37 p.m.

The kid who cuts our grass just came to the front door to announce that there is a dead cat in my back yard. (Nice.) I don't have a cat. It isn't MY dead cat, and I'm not removing it, and the kid is not willing to touch it, either.
I called Brian at work to let him know he has dead cat duty when he comes home, and asked him if he knew anyone missing a yellow cat. Brian is the street's biggest busybody, so if anyone would know, he would. He says someone about a mile down the road is looking for this cat. Not neighbors we really know at all, but of course, Brian knows EVERYONE...
Anyways, I thought I would call a friend who lives next door to the missing dead cat family, to let them know, maybe THEY could tell the family since they know them better. (Also because I would hate to upset them with my "unattached" tone- I'm more grossed out than anything, even though I know what it's like to lose a beloved cat. Been there, done that, now get it out of my yard.) Brian thinks we should dispose of the corpse and say nothing, he fears the neighbors will all think we DID something to their cat! OK, My dog, Ozzie, likes to catch and eat animals. He has taken down raccoons, woodchucks, mice, birds, you name it, and I wouldn't put it past him to play "swing the kitty" with his dog teeth. However, the cat has no obvious signs of foul play, though I haven't actually flipped him over to investigate further. It is possible that he got into our dirt-floor basement from the outside access doors and ate DeCon mouse poison I suppose, or maybe he just wandered form home and decided to croak in my yard.
Whaddaya all think? Go public, or dispose of the corpse & stay mum?

Last Five

Nostalgic Mama - 2005-08-21
Fitting, I suppose- though a bit outdated? - 2005-07-24
Pathetic Wondering - 2005-05-30
Brain-Dead Carnie - 2005-05-22
The Bedbugs Bit Me - 2005-05-16


Kelly is officially FOUR now!

Countdown to Kelly's Birthday
Lilypie Baby PicLilypie Baby Ticker

Carolyn is gonna be THREE soon!

Countdown to Carrie's Birthday
Lilypie Baby PicLilypie Baby Ticker


*HUGS* TOTAL!
Click here to
give kelsncarrie more *HUGS*
Get hugs of your own