To the world, you are one person...but to one person, you are the world!

The Bedbugs Bit Me
2005-05-16 at 1:47 p.m.

I am SO ready to kill Brian.
For most of the same reasons that I fell in love with him, I usually want to choke him.
He loves children. Especially ours. HOWEVER, he has absolutely no clue that they were not created as an alternative source of household control. I did not procreate so that in the event that I am unavailable, busy, or otherwise engaged, I would have two additional bodies living here that could set rules, yell at people, and "redecorate." Had I chosen my own replacements, which I did NOT, they wouldn't have been preschoolers who do not have any efficient housecleaning abilities.
Brian believes that once you are born into this household, you are immediately granted full control of your own immediate destiny and are to be treated with the utmost care and respect, and any needs should be promtly met- even at the expense of sanity, rest, or any bodily function that may need to be taken care of.
My most current annoyance is the "family bed." Both girls go to bed without too much fuss, usually. Oh, sure, there's always the "I need ___________" (fill in the blank with any variety of at least ten things) and the banter and arguing that occurs at some point, but it isn't as bad as it used to be. They are in their own room, in their own beds, and asleep before I am. That's all I have ever asked for. Until now...
For the last several weeks, somewhere between 2-3 a.m., I always notice the first little body invading my bed. (Sidenote: If I didn't actually NOTICE this, and it were done quietly and without disturbing the peace, it would probably go unmentioned and not be a problem.) Soon, the pillows are taken over, my ribs are kicked, and the SPRAWL begins- leaving me hanging halfway off the bed and clinging desparately to six inches of blanket for dear life. When she had a nasty cold a couple weeks ago, I stupidly allowed this to go on until she felt better but Kelly is the kind of kid who once a habit is started, it shall be a painful power struggle for weeks or months to eradicate. After spending the last few nights in HER bed in order to get some sleep, I decided enough was enough and put her back into HER bed.
Long story short, NO ONE slept from that moment on. Since her wailing had already woken everyone, I decided to stick to my guns and let her have at it. Brian couldn't support me on this, AS USUAL. God forbid the child actually realize that she does not make the rules! It wasn't even crying, it was SCREAMING. Blood-curdling, angry barks with repeated, "I want my DADDYYYYYY's" thrown in for good measure. Sure enough, he got up. I threatened his life, to no avail. I told him that if he decided to lie down and sleep with him there WOULD be consequences.
1. I would absolutely NOT come in there and wake him in an hour for work, and risk waking the kids
2. He would be committed to sleep in her bed EVERY night, because shutting her up by caving in was NOT a solution.
Of course, he gave it no further thught and was late for work this morning. He'll be sleeping in there from now on, or until he finally reclaims his authority and decides to put up with her tantrum and let her learn who is the boss. (I say that rather tongue-in-cheek, of course.) I absolutely REFUSE to "fix her" over a weekend and put up with the middle-of-the-night HELL while he sleeps, as I have SO MANY OTHER TIMES when she's done this.
Looking on the bright side, at least she no longer forces herself to vomit during her night rages. Also, I get that big, comfy Queen bed ALL TO MYSELF until morning! :o)
Buh-Bye, Bedmate!

Last Five

Nostalgic Mama - 2005-08-21
Fitting, I suppose- though a bit outdated? - 2005-07-24
Pathetic Wondering - 2005-05-30
Brain-Dead Carnie - 2005-05-22
The Bedbugs Bit Me - 2005-05-16


Kelly is officially FOUR now!

Countdown to Kelly's Birthday
Lilypie Baby PicLilypie Baby Ticker

Carolyn is gonna be THREE soon!

Countdown to Carrie's Birthday
Lilypie Baby PicLilypie Baby Ticker


*HUGS* TOTAL!
Click here to
give kelsncarrie more *HUGS*
Get hugs of your own